Disclaimer
Please don't nick anything in this diary, and don't ask for, or nick the design either!

Me
I'm a 22 year old chick from NSW Australia, I love the internet! I work, and I drink copious amounts of RUM!

<

Links
Diaryland
TheBundyChick.com
design
previous
Next

Random Entry New!!

Older Entries

My archived entries

Hi Ho Silver - 2004-10-05
- - 2004-08-02
Wee hoo - 2004-06-07
Stuff - 2004-05-28
- - 2004-04-30

Notes
My Profile

Email me

Take my survey's!!!!

Other readers

tamantha
nzforestguy
kaleid
allthereis
bluemoonrise
sillypnut05
anemptysoul
geofortean
cherriepie
mngchic
dawnfaye
iluvjessee
skittlez619
sinner-85
leslieirene
dust-settle
clocks
melomane


i blogged on 2002-12-16 @ 3:16 p.m./b>

As long as you drive my car, you'll listen to my radio station!!!

Any child of any age will be familiar with that one...

variations include

"As long as you live under my roof you'll do as I say"

Well, for years, YEARS!! when we would drive anywhere as a family, and dad was driving..we'd have to listen to his radio station, it was normally 1233....and us kids would turn to annoying games like "corners" to keep ourselves amused (corners, is where, as you drive around a corner, you exaggerate gravity etc, by slamming yourself into the person next to you as you go around a corner, so if its a left hand curve the person on the right window seat gets 2 other bodies come hurtling into them, and visa versa)

Eventually we'd get screamed at by mum and dad telling us to sit down shut up and do nothing. We'd beg for music, and dad would say. "its my car, listen to my station!!!"

He'd say to us

"When you have your own car, you can listen to you own music!

Even when we were learning to drive, he still wouldnt let us listen to our own radio station!

Well, years have passed, my sister has her own car, i have mine, my brother has his. Mum and dad, of course, have theres..

We all live in the same house... so say dads car is parked down the driveway and my car is parking him in... he'll get in my car, move it over the road, then drive off in his car, I'll come out a few hours later,

AND EVERY SINGLE SODDING RADIO BUTTON HAS BEEN RESET TO 87.5

I don't even KNOW what station 87.5 is, it doesn't even work, but every button from 1 - 6 is on 87.5. you press the "band" button, and all THOSE stations are tuned to 87.5

He's been in the car 10 seconds, and reset my sodding radio!!!!!

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

it makes me sssssooooo mad!~!!!!

Not just one station, but all of them, its like, he doesn't know how to find his radio station, so he just presses buttons at random, you know, for a mechanical engineer, my dad is technologically challenged.

Or we'll start driving, (in my car, the radios on 106.9) and dad will go to change the station, and I'll say

"Dad, this is my car, leave it on that station"

and he starts with the

"I'm your father, and you'll respect me"

"Bullshit, for years i've waited to have my own car so i could have my own radio station, now you sit in silence and suffer"

Another thing he does...

I've had my license now for 4 years ok..

He still tells me how to drive.

We'll reverse out the driveway...I've only just put the car into 2nd gear, we're gently rolling down the road, and i'm waiting.....waiting.... waiting to see how long it will take.... until finally...

"Just back off Jane, take it easy, we're not in a rush"

"Dad, i'm doing 30km/h in a 50 Zone... I'm not even in 3rd gear yet"

"I'm just saying Jane, we're not in a rush"

"Well don't "Just say" dad, You might not be in a rush, but i'd like to get there before the second coming"

**silence for a few minutes**

Then I look down and....

Dads hand, is on the handbreak.

grrr.

The handbreak is inbetween the two front seats.. and dad travels with his hand on the hand break... when we stop, he pulls it on for me.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

"DAD THATS MY JOB!!! GIVE ME THE DAMN HANDBREAK"

"I'm comfortable like this"

"YEAH!!! Well I'm uncomfortable, and i'm the driver,and if you don't get your hand of the handbreak, i'm going to drive us into a tree!!"

One last greivance i'd like to air.....picture this ok...this scene confronted me the other night

Your driving down a road, with no turns...none to the left, none to the right, no traffic lights no variances on the road, and up ahead, say 100 meters, is a moderate curve to the right...Your dad is sitting in the front seat while you drive. and all of a sudden..

you see his right hand, gliding round to the right like a boomerang, I'm thinking, is my dad learning t'ai chi??

"Dad, what are you doing?"

"Road curves to the right up ahead Jane"

"SHIT! REALLY!! GOLLY, LUCKY YOU WERE WATCHING, CAUSE I WAS ASLEEP AND WOULD HAVE MISSED THAT!"

"No need to be a smart arse Jane"

"Well shit dad, I don't exactly have a choice here, i can't get lost now can i, if i don't go round the curve, i'm going to drive into that tree i mentioned earlier."

"I was just saying Jane"

"DAD I DON'T NEED HELP!!! I CAN SEE WHICH WAY THE ROAD GOES"

"Fine! I was just saying"

"Dad, sit down, shut up and enjoy the ride for crying out loud, you can't be in control all the time"

Something else he does...

On this same car trip.. I'm hurtling along at 100km/h about 60 meters behind the car infront and dad says

"Good driving Jane, this is the distance I would keep"

So just to piss him off, i chuck it in 4th plant my foot and go screaming up the arse of the car in front"

"Jane, that wasn't very nice"

"Well shutup"

Well i feel so much better now, I'm going..

toodles

Comments!!