Disclaimer
Please don't nick anything in this diary, and don't ask for, or nick the design either!

Me
I'm a 22 year old chick from NSW Australia, I love the internet! I work, and I drink copious amounts of RUM!

<

Links
Diaryland
TheBundyChick.com
design
previous
Next

Random Entry New!!

Older Entries

My archived entries

Hi Ho Silver - 2004-10-05
- - 2004-08-02
Wee hoo - 2004-06-07
Stuff - 2004-05-28
- - 2004-04-30

Notes
My Profile

Email me

Take my survey's!!!!

Other readers

tamantha
nzforestguy
kaleid
allthereis
bluemoonrise
sillypnut05
anemptysoul
geofortean
cherriepie
mngchic
dawnfaye
iluvjessee
skittlez619
sinner-85
leslieirene
dust-settle
clocks
melomane


i blogged on 2003-07-09 @ 6:55 p.m./b>

Austrayliyen??

Reading through yesterday's entry.. and telling the girls at work about my encounter with a porcupine, i realized something quite odd..

Porcupine, is an american word.. Australians call them Ecchidna's.

What planet was I on last night????

I went to work today, and was telling the girls "I saw a Porcupine lastnight" to which they laughed and said

"Porcupine is the american term, we call the Ecchidna's Jane!!"

And the bizzare thing is, I KNOW THAT!!

I know we call them Ecchidna's. What on earth possessed me to call it a Porcupine!

Honestly! Where's my sense of national pride!!

So, it got me thinking about other terms, and words that American's have different terms for.

There was an American exchange student at our school once, and she was totally blown away by our language...

We say Tap, they say Faucet

We say Bracket, they say Parenthases

We say Toilet, They say Lavetory

It was like we were speaking another language, she was constantly saying "Pardon, what was that?"

We say Tomato... they say Tom-hey-to

Lets call the whole thing off!

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Comments!!